Ahmedabad Metro: Project Information, Tenders, Stations, Routes and Updates

Naomi Pandya Posted on: 2020-10-26 00:29:00 Viewer: 27,700 Comments: 0 Country: India City: Ahmedabad

Ahmedabad Metro: Project Information, Tenders, Stations, Routes and Updates

Ahmedabad Metro is a mass rapid transit system serving the twine cities Ahmedabad and Gandhinagar in Gujarat, India.

  • Project Name: Ahmedabad Metro Rail Project
  • Operator: Gujarat Metro Rail Corporation Limited
  • Owner: Govt. of India and Govt. of Gujarat
  • Project Type: Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS)
  • Total Network Length: 68.28 km
  • No. of Phases/Lines: 2 (2 Lines)
  • Project Cost: INR 16,157.17 Crore
  • Status: Operational - March 4, 2019

Project Cost & Funding

Phase Project Cost Funding by
Phase 1 Rs 12,900 crore  Govt. of Gujarat, Govt. of India and JICA
Phase 2  Rs 5,384 crore Govt. of Gujarat, Govt. of India and JICA

Operational Network

Ahmedabad Metro Phase-I Network (40.03 km)

Line 1 (East-West Corridor): Vastral Gam - Thaltej Gam

  • Total length: 21.16 km
  • No. of Stations: 18
  • Operational: Vastral Gam, Nirant Cross Road, Vastral, Rabari Colony, Amraiwadi, Apparel Park, Kankaria East, Kalupur Railway Station, Ghee Kanta, Shahpur, Old High Court, Stadium, Commerce Six Road, Gujarat University, Gurukul Road, Doordarshan Kendra and Thaltej Gam. 

Line 2 (North-South Corridor): Motera Stadium - APMC

  • Total length: 18.87 km
  • No. of Stations: 15
  • Operational: Motera Stadium, Sabarmati, AEC, Sabarmati Railway Station,  Ranip, Vadaj, Vijaynagar, Usmanpura, Old High Court, Gandhigram, Paldi, Shreyas, Rajivnagar, Jivraj Park, APMC.

Ahmedabad Metro Phase-II Network (28.254 km)

Line 2 Extension: Motera Stadium to Mahatma Mandir - 22.84 km

  • Total length: 22.84 km
  • No. of Stations: 20
  • Proposed Stations: (Motera Stadium), Koteshwar Road, Vishwakarma College, Tapovan Circle, Narmada Canal, Koba Circle, Juna Koba, Koba Gam, GNLU, Raysan, Randesan, Dholakuva Circle, Infocity, Sector 1, Sector 10A, Sachivalaya, Akshardham, Juna Sachivalaya, Sector 16, Sector 24, Mahatma Mandir.

Line 2 Extension: GNLU to GIFT City

  • Total length: 5.416 km
  • No. of Stations: 2
  • Proposed Stations: PDPU, GIFT City

System Features

  • Rolling Stock (Train): 3 Coach, Standard Gauge (1,435 mm), Maximum Speed - 80 kmph, Average Speed - 33 kmph, Passenger Capacity - 782. The train is capable of running “driverless” on unattended train operations (UTO) mode.
  • Electrification: 750 V DC Third Rail
  • Signalling: CBTC (Communication Based Train Control)
  • Track: Standard Guage (1,435 mm)

Major Contract Awarded

Phase I

  • Systra-RITES-Oriental-AECOM JV: General Consultancy
  • Hyundai Rotem: Supply of 96 Rolling Stock coaches (32 train sets).
  • Nippon Signal Co. Ltd, Japan: Supply of Signalling System
  • URC Construction: Construction of Apparel Park depot
  • Gannon Dunkerly-PSPO JV: Construction of Gyaspur depot
  • J Kumar Infraprojects: Construction of 6 km viaduct between Vastral Gam-Apparel Park
  • DRA-CICO JV: Construction of 6 stations between Vastral Gam-Apparel Park
  • Afcons Infrastructure: Construction of 2.45 km Tunnels & 2 Stations between East Ramp-Kalupur
  • Larsen & Toubro (L&T): Construction of 4.38 km Tunnels & 2 Stations between Kalupur-West Ramp
  • Tata Projects-CRCC JV: Construction of 8.21 km viaduct and 7 stations between Thaltej Gam-West Ramp
  • Simplex Infrastructure: Construction of 8.94 km viaduct and 6 stations between Shreyas-Ranip
  • Ranjit Buildcon: Construction of 4.85 km viaduct between Motera-Ranip
  • Pratibha-Ranjit JV: Construction of 5 stations between Motera-Ranip
  • Tata–CCECC JV: Construction of 8.21 km Viaduct, Sabarmati Bridge & 7 stations between Thaltej Gam-West Ramp
  • Siemens India-Siemens AG JV: Electrification

Phase II

  • SYSTRA MVA Consulting: Detailed Design Consultant (DDC) for Line-2 Extension(Motera Stadium to Mahatma Mandir).
  • Ardanuy Ingeniería S.A: Detailed Design Consultant (DDC) for Electrical Systems (Power Supply & Distribution System, 750 V DC Third Rail Traction Electrification and SCADA).
  • M.K. Soil Testing Laboratory: Geotechnical Testing for Line-2 Extension(Motera Stadium to Mahatma Mandir) including Depot.
  • Afcons Infrastructure: Construction of viaduct from Motera to GNLU (8.124 km) and GNLU to GIFT City (5.420 km) along with 10 metro stations (Package C1).
  • Ranjit Buildcon: Construction of viaduct from GNLU to Gandhinagar Sector-1 (6.478 km) along with 5 metro stations (Package C2).

Ahmedabad Metro Route Map (Phase I)

Ahmedabad Metro Phase I Route Map

Click here to see the Live Route Map of Phase I

Metro Authority Contact Details:

Gujarat Metro Rail Corporation Limited

803 8th Floor, GNFC Info Tower, Sarkhej

Gandhinagar Highway,Bodakdev

Ahmedabad – 380054, Gujarat.

Tel: 79-26800000

Email: info@gujaratmetrorail.com

Website: gujaratmetrorail.com

Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!