Delhi Metro Pink line trial runs on Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar streatch

Krishtina D'Silva Posted on: 2018-09-06 11:59:52 Viewer: 1,021 Comments: 0 Country: India City: New Delhi

Delhi Metro Pink line trial runs on Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar streatch

New Delhi, India (Urban Transport News): On 5 September the Delhi Metro Pink Line trial runs on the 9.7 km long stretch between Lajpat Nagar and Mayur Vihar Pocket-I metro stations of the Delhi Metro Pink Line started. As per official sources, this section is expected to become functional by the month of October. The section, which is an extension of the Majlis Park-Lajpat Nagar section, will be a big boon to metro commuters of many prominent areas such as Ashram, Mayur Vihar, Vinoba Puri etc. Interestingly, for the first time, the Hazrat Nizamuddin railway station would be connected to the Delhi Metro.

Also, the metro station at Hazrat Nizamuddin will be linked with the ISBT at Sarai Kale Khan. This section will also see the metro network cross the Yamuna River for the fourth time, even other three Delhi Metro Lines that bridge the Yamuna are the Blue Line, Red Line, and Magenta Line. The Managing Director of Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) flags the trial runs on the Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket-I section.  The DMRC official share that during the trial runs, the interface of the metro train will be checked in order to ensure that there is no physical infringement with civil infrastructure during the train movement on the metro track.

They further also mentioned that testing of various sub-systems of the metro coaches will also be done. He further stated that the new signaling technology, which is being used on the Pink Line and Magenta Line, known as Communication Based Train Control, will undergo rigorous testing in stages. Also, the spokesperson informed that during the trial runs, the response of the train at different speed levels, braking of the train, as well as the interconnection with the Operations Control Centre, will be checked. The behavior of the track system and the Over Head Electrification (OHE) will also be monitored repeatedly.

This section will cover 5 metro stations namely, Vinoba Puri, Ashram, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Mayur Vihar-I and Mayur Vihar Pocket-I, out of which only Mayur Vihar-I and Mayur Vihar Pocket-I will be elevated metro stations, while rest of them will be underground metro stations. There will also be an interchange facility at Mayur Vihar-I, from where metro commuters will be able to change trains between Pink Line and Blue Line as both the stations will be connected through a 63 meter-long foot overbridge.

Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!