Delhi Govt approves Phase-IV project of Delhi Metro worth Rs 46,800 crores

Naomi Pandya Posted on: 2018-12-19 17:25:59 Viewer: 839 Comments: 0 Country: India City: New Delhi

Delhi Govt approves Phase-IV project of Delhi Metro worth Rs 46,800 crores

New Delhi (Urban Transport News): The Aam Aadmi Party-led Delhi Government finally approved the Delhi Metro's Phase-IV project after delaying the file for last two years. The Delhi Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has today approved the Delhi Metro's Phase-IV project along with the proposal of procurement of 334 additional Rolling Stock (Metro Train) coaches. Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia has shared this information today after the cabinet meeting and said that Delhi Govt. will contribute Rs.9,707 crores for this project.


The phase-IV of Delhi Metro will have 6 new corridors which cover total metro network of 103.93 km with 79 stations in Delhi. The new six corridors will be-


  • Rithala to Narela (Red Line Extn.): 16 stations (21.73 km) - Rohini Sector-16, Rohini Sector-31, Rohini Sector-32, Rohini Sector-36, Rohini Sector-37, Barwala, Put Khurd, Bawana Industrial Area-1, Bawana Industrial Area-2, Bawana, Bawana JJ Colony, Sanpath, New Sant Colony, Anaj Mandi, and Narela. (All elevated)
  • Janakpuri West - RK Ashram: 25 stations (28.92 km) - Krishna Park Extension, Keshpur, Meerabagh, Paschim Vihar, Peeragarhi Chowk, Peeragarhi, Mangolpuri, West Enclave, Deepali Chowk, Madhuwan chowk, Rohini East, Prashant Vihar, North Pitampura, Haiderpur, Mukarba Chowk, Bhalaswa, Majlis Park, Azadpur, Ashok Vihar, Derwal Nagar, Rajpura, GG Sanbji Mandi, Pulbangash, Sadar Bazar, Nabi Karim, and RK Ashram.
  • Mukandpur - Maujpur: 6 stations (12.54 km) - Burari Crossing, Jagatpur Village, Surghat, Khajuri Khas, Bhajanpura, Yamuna Vihar, and Maujpur (All elevated).
  • Inderlok - Indraprastha: 10 stations (12.58 km) - Inderlok, Dayabasti, Sarai Rohilla, Ahmal Khan Park, Nabi Karim, New Delhi, LNJP Hospital, Delhi Gate, Indira Gandhi Stadium, and Indraprastha (All underground)
  • Tughlakabad - Delhi Aerocity via Saket G-Block: 15 stations (20.2 km) - Tughlakabad, Tughalakabad Railway Colony, Anandmayi Marg Junction, Tigri, Khanpur, Ambedkar Nagar, Saket G-Block, Saket, Lado Sarai, Mehrauli, Kishanagar, Masoodpur, Vasant Kunj Sector-D, Mahipalpur, and Delhi Aerocity. (Elevated & Underground)
  • Lajpat Nagar - Saket G-Block: 7 stations (7.96 km) - Lajpat Nagar, Andrews Ganj, Greater Kailash-1, Chirag Delhi, Sheikh Sarai, and Saket G-Block. (Elaveted & Underground)


On December 10, the Delhi Metro Board chaired by Durga Shankar Mishra Secretary Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs in presence of Principal Secretary of Delhi Government and other Director of DMRC has reapproved the revised DPR of Phase-IV due to the revision of project cost from Rs.45,603 crores to Rs 46,800 crores. 


This project was a lot of controversy between the Delhi Government and the Central Government. The file of the phase-IV project was pending with the Delhi Government for last two years and the project cost has been revised more than two times along with some changes in routes. The Phase-IV is expected to implement on the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) mode. 


In last month, Durga Shankar Mishra Secretary of Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs (MoHUA) has informed that the Delhi Metro Board has given option to Delhi Metro to ask private operators to run metro trains on the phase-IV track of the Delhi Metro on profit sharing/lease basis. 

Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!