India to launch second Tejas Express on Ahmedabad-Mumbai route

Anushka Khare Posted on: 2020-01-01 08:51:51 Viewer: 556 Comments: 0 Country: India City: New Delhi

India to launch second Tejas Express on Ahmedabad-Mumbai route

New Delhi, India (Urban Transport News): After the successful run of Lucknow-Delhi Tejas Express, the second Tejas Express train is ready to run between Ahmedabad and Mumbai Central. This will be yet another step of the Ministry of Railways in its endeavor to improve the overall traveling experience to rail passengers by providing state of the art facilities. The inaugural run of this second Tejas Train will be flagged off from Ahmedabad on January 17, 2020.

The commercial run of the train will start with effect from January 19, 2020, from Ahmedabad. The train to be operated by IRCTC which also operates the first Tejas Train shall be equipped with all modern facilities on-board for ensuring a high level of comfort to the passengers. To start with, this fully air-conditioned train shall have two Executive Class Chair Cars having 56 seats each and Eight Chair Cars having the capacity of 78 seats each. The total carrying capacity of the train will be 736 passengers.

Inaugural Run Schedule

On its inaugural run on January 17, 2020, Train No. 09426 Ahmedabad - Mumbai Central Tejas Express will leave Ahmedabad at 09.30 am and will reach Mumbai Central at 04.00 pm. Similarily in return direction Train No. 09425 Mumbai Central - Ahmedabad Tejas Express will depart from Mumbai Central at 05.15 pm and will reach Ahmedabad at 11.30 pm.

Regular Run Schedule

On its regular run on January 19, 2020, Train No. 82902 Ahmedabad - Mumbai Central Tejas Express (Except Thursday) will leave Ahmedabad at 06.40 am and will reach Mumbai Central at 01.10 pm. Similarily in return direction Train No. 82901 Mumbai Central - Ahmedabad Tejas Express (Except Thursday) will depart from Mumbai Central at 03.40 pm and will reach Ahmedabad at 09.55 pm.

Stations on routes

This Tejas Train will have scheduled commercial halts at Nadiad, Vadodara, Bharuch, Surat, Vapi and Borivali. The train will run on all days of the week except Thursday.

Salient features of the train

  • Complimentary On-board infotainment services will be available in IRCTC trains to the passengers.
  • High-quality food and beverages will be provided to the passengers on board in the train and included in the ticket fare.
  • Service on the train will be done through trolleys similar to airlines. Each coach will be provided with an RO water filter in addition to the packaged drinking water bottle for each passenger.
  • All passengers travelling on the IRCTC train will be provided with Rail Travel Insurance of up to Rs. 25 Lakhs, free of cost by IRCTC. This complimentary travel insurance also includes exclusive coverage of Rs. 1 lakh against household theft/robbery during the travel period of the passengers.
  • Besides, this special feature, in a first of its own, IRCTC will also pay a compensation of Rs 100/- in case the train during its run,  is delayed by more than one hour and Rs 250/- in case of delay of more than two hours to every passenger as compensation.
  • In case of cancellation of the train, an automatic full refund of full fare on confirmed and /or waitlisted e-tickets will be made. There will be no need of canceling the ticket or filing TDR in such case
  • There will be no tatkal quota or premium tatkal quota in the train. There will be only General Quota and Foreign Tourist Quota. Foreign Tourist Quota of 6 seats in EC and 12 seats in CC will be available for Foreign Tourists.


The booking for this train has commenced and passengers can book their tickets exclusively on the IRCTC website and its mobile app “IRCTC Rail Connect”. There will be no booking at railway reservation countersThe train will also be available for booking through IRCTC’s online travel portal partners.

Also Read

Leave Your Comment!

Recent Comments!

No comments found...!